DC
/

Kansas

Datacenter Source tracks 7 data centers in Kansas. Facilities that disclose power add up to 0 MW online and 0 MW in the pipeline. These are floors, not market size: 0% of facilities have a power figure. Largest operators by tracked MW: TierPoint and SC.

Follow

Get changes to Kansas

How often

Double opt-in; one-click unsubscribe in every email. We store only your email and what you follow. More

Or subscribe in a feed reader: RSS / Atom

Cite this
Text
Datacenter Source. “Kansas data centers.” /states/KS. Data as of 2026-10-12. Accessed 2026-10-12.
BibTeX
@misc{datacentersource_state_KS_2026,
  title = {{Kansas data centers}},
  author = {{Datacenter Source}},
  year = {2026},
  howpublished = {\url{/states/KS}},
  note = {Data as of 2026-10-12; accessed 2026-10-12. Compiled from cited sources, including OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0)},
}

Please also cite the original source of any specific figure (linked beside it).

What changedView on map →
Kansas facilities:Download CSVJSONAPI docs
Floors, not market size. MW totals only add up facilities that disclose a figure (0% of 7 here); most sites don't, so the real totals are higher. “—” means not disclosed or not yet collected, never zero. CoverageData as of Oct 12, 2026
Facilities
7
0 campuses
Power online (floor)
0 MW
0 sites reporting
Under construction (floor)
0 MW
planned MW at active sites
Planned
—
0 planned sites (MW not disclosed)
AI campuses
0
0 MW online · 0 MW pipeline
AI compute
—
H100-equivalents (est.)
Capital (reported + est.)
—

Online = operating sites; pipeline = remaining planned MW at sites under construction or planned. Percentages under each total show how much of it is backed by each evidence level. Average industrial electricity price: 8.52¢/kWh (EIA).

ConfirmedBacked by a filing, deed, permit, interconnection-queue record, or a government or utility record. filing, deed, permit or grid recordAnnouncedStated by the company or reported in the press; not yet backed by a filing or grid record. company or press claimEst.Modeled, measured from satellite imagery, inferred from community mapping, or computed by this site. Not a disclosed figure. satellite, model or map inferenceHow levels are assigned

Construction pipeline by expected completion

MW from phases with a projected completion date

No dated pipeline yet.

Power reality

Announced capacity vs. what grid records, construction and operation document. Facility-level sums; sources differ in coverage.

How to read this

Each bar sums one kind of evidence across facilities. Announced is the largest MW a company, utility, government or press source reported. Interconnection requests are MW in active large-load queue requests. Of the grid operators we ingest, only NYISO publishes these project by project. Contracted / approved means an executed interconnection agreement or a reported utility or power contract. Under construction and Operational come from construction records, imagery or operator reports.

The gap between announced and documented MW is capacity that has been claimed but not yet backed by a grid, construction or operating record. It is not proof a project won't happen. On-site generation is listed separately and never added to grid capacity. Method

Time to power puts each site's pending MW (announced minus operational) into a bucket by the midpoint of its evidence-based window. The window starts at the furthest documented stage and adds editorial ranges for what remains (e.g. announced: 2–5 yrs; land acquired: 2–4.5 yrs; planning / zoning: 1.75–4 yrs). Insufficient evidence means no dated stage evidence, not a delay. Windows are ranges, not forecasts. All ranges and rules

  • Announced—
  • Interconnection requests—
  • Contracted / approved—
  • Under construction—
  • Operational—
Pending MW by time to power

Bucketed by the midpoint of each site's evidence-based window. Windows are ranges, not forecasts.

Largest gaps: announced vs documented

No large gaps in this scope.

Unverified: 7

Interconnection queues

Active requests to connect to the grid (SPP). Requests are applications, not commitments.

How to read this

A queue request asks a grid operator (ISO/RTO) to connect a new generator or large load to the transmission system. It then moves through studies (feasibility, system impact, facilities) before an interconnection agreement, construction and service. Filing is an application, not a commitment to build. Generation totals here are active requests only.

Why most aren't built: in the queue files we ingest, no grid operator in this scope publishes its withdrawn requests. These are shares of each published file, not completion rates. SPP is left out because their files don't include withdrawn requests. Queue sources

Data-center load requests are shown only where an ISO publishes them project by project (NYISO). Elsewhere, large loads go through utilities, and the ISO figures above (e.g. ERCOT's large-load tracking) are quoted from the operator's own documents.

Generation seeking interconnection26.95 GW · 116 requests
Solar 8.96 GWStorage 6.93 GWWind 4.31 GWGas 3.77 GWSolar + storage 2.48 GWHybrid 300 MW

Coverage

How much of this scope our sources describe. Low coverage means data isn't disclosed or not yet collected, not that there's nothing there.

Data as of Oct 12, 2026
Facilities with a power figure0% (0 of 7)
Facilities with confirmed evidence0% (0 of 7)
Only estimated evidence (mapping or models)100% (7 of 7)

Confirmed evidence = at least one fact about the facility itself from a filing, deed, permit, interconnection record, or government or utility record. Regional context (state prices, nearby plants, utility territory maps) doesn't count. Most facilities come from OpenStreetMap, which records that a building exists but rarely its power, owner or status.

Coverage by Markets
MarketsFacilitiesWith powerConfirmed
Kansas City50%(low)0%

Markets

Click through to drill down

Data as of Oct 12, 2026
Online Under construction + planned
NameFacilitiesOnlinePipeline
Kansas City5——

Largest operators & owners

Online + pipeline MW at linked facilities

Online Under construction + planned

Largest customers & end users

Tenants and workload owners, where sourced

Online Under construction + planned

None identified.

Utility exposure

Most likely retail utility by location (approximate)

Online Under construction + planned

Grid operators (ISO / RTO)

By facility location

Online Under construction + planned
  • SPP— · 7 sites

Largest facilities

By online + pipeline MW; badge = evidence behind each figure

Data as of Oct 12, 2026
FacilityStatusOnlinePipeline

Facilities by status

  • Operating7

Counties

Local impact

Water, on-site generation and air permits, incentives, regulatory events and large-load tariffs, where a source documents them. Counts are of sourced records, not of the state's totals.

Water & cooling

Not yet collected

On-site generation & air permits
Not yet collected
Incentives

Not yet collected

Utility & rates: large-load tariffs
  • Evergy Metro: Large Load Power Service (LLPS) rate plan for loads over 75 MW ConfirmedBacked by a filing, deed, permit, interconnection-queue record, or a government or utility record.Kansas Corporation Commission · Nov 2025 · source
Regulatory events

Not yet collected